FRENES

AI agent builders

Dify: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Dify assembles workflows in a visual editor and creates agents that use multiple tools. It serves people who want to connect documents to assistants, publish applications or host the platform themselves. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $590 per year. Access and transparency score: 81/100, #1 of 20 in its category.

Score
81/100
Access 25/30
Openness 30/30
Trust 26/40
Free tierOpen sourceAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Dify?

Dify assembles workflows in a visual editor and creates agents that use multiple tools. It serves people who want to connect documents to assistants, publish applications or host the platform themselves.

According to its documentation, Dify lets you:

  • assemble workflows in a visual editor
  • create agents that use multiple tools
  • connect documents to an assistant
  • publish an application with an API
  • deploy the platform on your own infrastructure

We file it under AI agent builders, the category of tools to build your own AI agents, and it also overlaps with workflow automation and vector databases and RAG. The category lists 20 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is LangGenius, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers, data analysts, and project managers. The need it covers is simple to state: build your own AI agents.

Dify is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you want to read the code or host it yourself

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Dify cost?

Pricing model: open source (public code). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $590 per year (Professional on Dify Cloud, per workspace, billed annually, excluding taxes), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($20 per month, based on tools with a published price).

BrainSoupBrainSoup : $5$5OrkasOrkas : $11.99$11.99Relevance AIRelevance AI : $19$19Hermes AgentHermes Agent : $20$20MindStudioMindStudio : $20$20GensparkGenspark : $20$20AgentaAgenta : $29$29DifyDify : $49.17$49.17LindyLindy : $49.99$49.99BotpressBotpress : $150$150MastraMastra : $250$250
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Dify runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and German.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

The source code is public: langgeniuslanggenius/dify.

How we scored it

Our 81/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Dify score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness30/30API, data export, open code
Trust26/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
DifyDify : 8181AgentaAgenta : 7878AutoGenAutoGen : 7878Hermes AgentHermes Agent : 7373MastraMastra : 7373OpenClawOpenClaw : 7171BotpressBotpress : 6868MindStudioMindStudio : 6868OrkasOrkas : 6868VoiceflowVoiceflow : 6565
Dify ranks #1 of 20. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Dify against other tools in the aI agent builders category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
DifyYes$590 per yearYes81
AgentaYes$29 per monthYes78
AutoGenYesnot publishedYes78
Hermes AgentYes$20 per monthYes73
MastraYes$250 per monthYes73
OpenClawYesnot published–71
BotpressYes$150 per monthYes68
MindStudioYes$20 per monthYes68

Verdict

Dify is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Public source code
  • Established since 2023

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Dify free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $590 per year.

Where is Dify data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Dify have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Dify?

In the same category: Agenta, AutoGen, Hermes Agent, and Mastra.

Dify or Agenta: which one to choose?

Dify starts at $590 per year, Agenta at $29 per month and our score is 81/100 for Dify and 78/100 for Agenta. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score