FRENES

AI agent builders

Hermes Agent: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Hermes Agent lets users execute tasks with tools and a terminal while retaining memory between sessions. It can create reusable skills, schedule recurring tasks, browse the web, and receive requests through messaging services. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $20 per month. Access and transparency score: 73/100, #4 of 20 in its category.

Score
73/100
Access 30/30
Openness 30/30
Trust 13/40
Free tierOpen sourceAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Hermes Agent?

Hermes Agent lets users execute tasks with tools and a terminal while retaining memory between sessions. It can create reusable skills, schedule recurring tasks, browse the web, and receive requests through messaging services.

According to its documentation, Hermes Agent lets you:

  • execute tasks with tools and a terminal
  • retain memory between sessions
  • create reusable skills from completed tasks
  • schedule recurring tasks
  • search and browse the web
  • receive requests through messaging services

We file it under AI agent builders, the category of tools to build your own AI agents, and it also overlaps with workflow automation and aI coding assistants. The category lists 20 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Nous Research, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2026: it is still very new.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers, researchers, and freelancers. The need it covers is simple to state: build your own AI agents.

Hermes Agent is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you also work from your phone
  • you want to read the code or host it yourself

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Hermes Agent cost?

Pricing model: open source (public code). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $20 per month (Nous Portal Plus, optional; free agent and external models billed separately), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($20 per month, based on tools with a published price).

BrainSoupBrainSoup : $5$5OrkasOrkas : $11.99$11.99Relevance AIRelevance AI : $19$19Hermes AgentHermes Agent : $20$20MindStudioMindStudio : $20$20GensparkGenspark : $20$20AgentaAgenta : $29$29DifyDify : $49.17$49.17LindyLindy : $49.99$49.99BotpressBotpress : $150$150MastraMastra : $250$250
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Hermes Agent runs on: Windows, macOS, Linux, Android, API, Slack, and Microsoft Teams.

The interface is available in 17 languages.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

The source code is public: NousResearchNousResearch/hermes-agent.

How we scored it

Our 73/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Hermes Agent score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access30/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness30/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
DifyDify : 8181AgentaAgenta : 7878AutoGenAutoGen : 7878Hermes AgentHermes Agent : 7373MastraMastra : 7373OpenClawOpenClaw : 7171BotpressBotpress : 6868MindStudioMindStudio : 6868OrkasOrkas : 6868VoiceflowVoiceflow : 6565
Hermes Agent ranks #4 of 20. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Hermes Agent against other tools in the aI agent builders category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
Hermes AgentYes$20 per monthYes73
DifyYes$590 per yearYes81
AgentaYes$29 per monthYes78
AutoGenYesnot publishedYes78
MastraYes$250 per monthYes73
OpenClawYesnot published–71
BotpressYes$150 per monthYes68
MindStudioYes$20 per monthYes68

Verdict

Hermes Agent is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Public source code
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Very new service

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Hermes Agent free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $20 per month.

Where is Hermes Agent data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Hermes Agent have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Hermes Agent?

In the same category: Dify, Agenta, AutoGen, and Mastra.

Hermes Agent or Dify: which one to choose?

Hermes Agent starts at $20 per month, Dify at $590 per year and our score is 73/100 for Hermes Agent and 81/100 for Dify. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score