Advertising
Pencil: review, pricing, data and alternatives
Pencil helps advertising teams generate ad copy, visuals, and video variants. It also adapts ads to different formats, compares creative performance, and sends ads to advertising accounts. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $11 per month. Access and transparency score: 40/100, #5 of 6 in its category.
| Access | 10/30 | |
|---|---|---|
| Openness | 10/30 | |
| Trust | 20/40 |
What is Pencil?
Pencil helps advertising teams generate ad copy, visuals, and video variants. It also adapts ads to different formats, compares creative performance, and sends ads to advertising accounts.
According to its documentation, Pencil lets you:
- generate ad copy and visuals
- create video variants
- adapt ads to different formats
- compare creative performance
- send ads to advertising accounts
We file it under Advertising, the category of tools to create and optimise ads, and it also overlaps with aI image generators and aI video generators. The category lists 6 verified tools on this site.
The publisher is Pencil AI Limited, based in United Kingdom. The service launched in 2020, which gives it some track record.
Who is it for?
It is mostly useful to these profiles: marketers, graphic designers, online retailers, and social media managers. The need it covers is simple to state: create and optimise ads.
Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.
How much does Pencil cost?
Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.
The first paid plan costs $11 per month (Core, billed annually; 14 USD when paying monthly. Guided trial of six ads), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.
Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($19.17 per month, based on tools with a published price).
To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.
Data and privacy
The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.
For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.
Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.
Three habits apply to every AI tool:
- turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
- use a work account separate from your personal account
- review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it
Platforms, languages and API
Pencil runs on: web browser.
Interface languages are not specified.
API availability is not documented.
How we scored it
Our 40/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.
| Criterion | Points | What counts |
|---|---|---|
| Access | 10/30 | free tier, published price, French interface |
| Openness | 10/30 | API, data export, open code |
| Trust | 20/40 | identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists |
The full calculation is explained on our method page.
Comparison with alternatives
Pencil against other tools in the advertising category:
| Tool | Free | Entry price | API | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pencil | No | $11 per month | – | 40 |
| Adzooma | Yes | $69 per month | – | 58 |
| Creatify | Yes | $10 per month | Yes | 58 |
| AdCreative.ai | No | $39 per month | Yes | 50 |
| Daydrm.ai | Yes | $5 one-off payment | – | 48 |
| Predis.ai | No | $230 per year | Yes | 40 |
Verdict
Pencil publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.
Strengths
- Cheaper than its category median
- Established since 2020
Limitations
- No free tier
- Data hosting not disclosed
Avoid if…
- You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
Alternatives
- Adzoomafree tier
- Creatifyfree tier
- AdCreative.ai$39 per month
- Daydrm.aifree tier
- Predis.ai$230 per year
Categories and jobs
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Is Pencil free?
No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $11 per month.
Where is Pencil data stored?
The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.
Does Pencil have an API?
It is not documented.
What are the alternatives to Pencil?
In the same category: Adzooma, Creatify, AdCreative.ai, and Daydrm.ai.
Pencil or Adzooma: which one to choose?
Adzooma has a free tier, Pencil does not, Pencil starts at $11 per month, Adzooma at $69 per month, and our score is 40/100 for Pencil and 58/100 for Adzooma. Try both on the same task before paying.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score