FRENES

AI coding assistants

Stenography: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Stenography helps developers explain and document code. It adds comments in VS Code, updates documentation when saving, and suggests links to documentation and Stack Overflow for users. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $10 per month. Access and transparency score: 61/100, #13 of 31 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Stenography?

Stenography helps developers explain and document code. It adds comments in VS Code, updates documentation when saving, and suggests links to documentation and Stack Overflow for users.

According to its documentation, Stenography lets you:

  • explain a code snippet
  • automatically add comments in VS Code
  • update documentation when saving
  • suggest links to documentation and Stack Overflow

We file it under AI coding assistants, the category of tools to write and fix code, and it also overlaps with developer tools. The category lists 31 verified tools on this site.

The service launched in 2021, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers. The need it covers is simple to state: write and fix code.

Stenography is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Stenography cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $10 per month (Tier I, 1,000 monthly calls and API access), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($15 per month, based on tools with a published price).

TRAETRAE : $3$3GoCodeoGoCodeo : $7.08$7.08CursorCursor : $8$8dbForge AI AssistantdbForge AI Assistant : $9.95$9.95OpenCodeOpenCode : $10$10StenographyStenography : $10$10Claude CodeClaude Code : $16.67$16.67Amazon Q Developer CLIAmazon Q Developer CLI : $19$19AmpAmp : $20$20DevinDevin : $20$20QodoQodo : $30$30
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 21.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Stenography runs on: web browser, browser extension, and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 61/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Stenography score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust16/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
CodexCodex : 9090aideraider : 7878KiloKilo : 7878GitHub CopilotGitHub Copilot : 7575Amazon Q DeveloperAmazon Q Developer : 7171OpenCodeOpenCode : 7171AmpAmp : 7070ContinueContinue : 6868CursorCursor : 6565GoCodeoGoCodeo : 6161StenographyStenography : 6161
Stenography ranks #13 of 31. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Stenography against other tools in the aI coding assistants category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
StenographyYes$10 per monthYes61
CodexYes$8 per monthYes90
aiderYesnot publishedYes78
KiloYes$15 per monthYes78
GitHub CopilotYes$10 per monthYes75
Amazon Q DeveloperYes$19 per month–71
OpenCodeYes$10 per monthYes71
AmpYes$20 per monthYes70

Verdict

Stenography is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Established since 2021

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Stenography free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $10 per month.

Where is Stenography data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Stenography have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Stenography?

In the same category: Codex, aider, Kilo, and GitHub Copilot.

Stenography or Codex: which one to choose?

Stenography starts at $10 per month, Codex at $8 per month and our score is 61/100 for Stenography and 90/100 for Codex. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score