AI photo editing
Topaz Labs: review, pricing, data and alternatives
Topaz Labs supports people restoring or enhancing photos and videos. Its functions include image enlargement, noise reduction, blur correction, restoration of damaged photographs, and improved video resolution and smoothness. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $109 per year. Access and transparency score: 46/100, #21 of 24 in its category.
| Access | 10/30 | |
|---|---|---|
| Openness | 20/30 | |
| Trust | 16/40 |
What is Topaz Labs?
Topaz Labs supports people restoring or enhancing photos and videos. Its functions include image enlargement, noise reduction, blur correction, restoration of damaged photographs, and improved video resolution and smoothness.
According to its documentation, Topaz Labs lets you:
- enlarge images while restoring details
- reduce noise in photos
- correct blur and enhance sharpness
- restore damaged photographs
- improve video resolution and smoothness
We file it under AI photo editing, the category of tools to edit, cut out and upscale photos, and it also overlaps with aI video editing. The category lists 24 verified tools on this site.
The publisher is Topaz Labs LLC, based in United States.
Who is it for?
It is mostly useful to these profiles: graphic designers and video creators. The need it covers is simple to state: edit, cut out and upscale photos.
Topaz Labs is a good candidate if:
- you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
- you also work from your phone
Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.
How much does Topaz Labs cost?
Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.
The first paid plan costs $109 per year (Topaz for Web – Image, annual subscription at the displayed promotional rate; includes Topaz for Mobile), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.
Per month, that is close to the category median ($9.49 per month, based on tools with a published price).
To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.
Data and privacy
The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.
For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.
Exporting your content: JPEG, PNG, TIFF, DNG pour Topaz Photo. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.
Three habits apply to every AI tool:
- turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
- use a work account separate from your personal account
- review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it
Platforms, languages and API
Topaz Labs runs on: web browser, Windows, macOS, iPhone and iPad, and API.
Interface languages are not specified.
A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.
How we scored it
Our 46/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.
| Criterion | Points | What counts |
|---|---|---|
| Access | 10/30 | free tier, published price, French interface |
| Openness | 20/30 | API, data export, open code |
| Trust | 16/40 | identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists |
The full calculation is explained on our method page.
Comparison with alternatives
Topaz Labs against other tools in the aI photo editing category:
| Tool | Free | Entry price | API | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Topaz Labs | No | $109 per year | Yes | 46 |
| remove.bg | Yes | $3 pay as you go | Yes | 81 |
| Picsart | Yes | ¥1,699 per month | Yes | 80 |
| Cleanup.pictures | Yes | $36 per year | Yes | 78 |
| HitPaw Online Photo Enhancer | Yes | $9.99 pay as you go | Yes | 73 |
| Fotor | Yes | not published | Yes | 68 |
| Colorize.cc | Yes | $12 one-off payment | Yes | 68 |
| Palette | Yes | $72 per year | Yes | 68 |
Verdict
Topaz Labs publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.
Strengths
- Public API
- Available on many platforms
Limitations
- No free tier
- Data hosting not disclosed
Avoid if…
- You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
Alternatives
- remove.bgfree tier
- Picsartfree tier
- Cleanup.picturesfree tier
- HitPaw Online Photo Enhancerfree tier
- Fotorfree tier
- Colorize.ccfree tier
Categories and jobs
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Is Topaz Labs free?
No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $109 per year.
Where is Topaz Labs data stored?
The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.
Does Topaz Labs have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented.
What are the alternatives to Topaz Labs?
In the same category: remove.bg, Picsart, Cleanup.pictures, and HitPaw Online Photo Enhancer.
Topaz Labs or remove.bg: which one to choose?
Remove.bg has a free tier, Topaz Labs does not, Topaz Labs starts at $109 per year, remove.bg at $3 pay as you go, and our score is 46/100 for Topaz Labs and 81/100 for remove.bg. Try both on the same task before paying.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score