GLM-5.3-Flash vs Qwen3.6 27B
GLM-5.3-Flash (Zhipu AI (Z.ai)) and Qwen3.6 27B (Alibaba Cloud (Qwen)) compared point by point: measured performance, pricing, context and capabilities.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | GLM-5.3-Flash | Qwen3.6 27B |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Zhipu AI (Z.ai) | Alibaba Cloud (Qwen) |
| Released | September 18, 2026 | April 22, 2026 |
| Capability index | 71.9 / 100 | 72.2 / 100 |
| Input price | $0.30 | $0.33 |
| Output price | $1.05 | $2.7 |
| Cost of a typical task | $0.008 | $0.012 |
| Context window | 1,000,000 tokens | 262,144 tokens |
| Maximum output | 131,072 tokens | 65,536 tokens |
| Reasoning mode | Yes | Yes |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Accepted inputs | text, image, video, PDF | text, image, video |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The match-up at a glance
GLM-5.3-Flash and Qwen3.6 27B are two open-weight models that you can install on your own servers, one from Zhipu AI (Z.ai), the other from Alibaba Cloud (Qwen). GLM-5.3-Flash was released on September 18, 2026, Qwen3.6 27B on April 22, 2026.
All figures below come from public sources checked on October 22, 2026: models.dev and OpenRouter for prices and capabilities, Epoch AI for scores.
What the benchmarks say
On our capability index, GLM-5.3-Flash scores 71.9 out of 100 and Qwen3.6 27B 72.2. The gap is too small to separate them.
On the 3 benchmarks reported for both, GLM-5.3-Flash wins 3 times and Qwen3.6 27B 0:
- GPQA Diamond (PhD-level science questions): GLM-5.3-Flash 90.2%, Qwen3.6 27B 85.9%
- OTIS Mock AIME (competition mathematics problems): GLM-5.3-Flash 93.9%, Qwen3.6 27B 91.1%
- FrontierMath (very hard research-level mathematics): GLM-5.3-Flash 55.8%, Qwen3.6 27B 35.1%
Pricing
GLM-5.3-Flash costs $0.30 per million input tokens and $1.05 per million output tokens; Qwen3.6 27B costs $0.33 and $2.7.
For a typical agent task (read 20,000 tokens, write 2,000), expect $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash versus $0.012 with Qwen3.6 27B. GLM-5.3-Flash is 1.5 times cheaper, a gap that adds up quickly over 1,000 tasks: $3.83 difference.
Run the numbers with your own volumes in the agent cost calculator.
Features and limits
GLM-5.3-Flash reads more in one go: 1,000,000 tokens of context (roughly 1,500 pages), versus 262,144 for Qwen3.6 27B.
Reasoning mode: GLM-5.3-Flash yes, Qwen3.6 27B yes. Tool calling: GLM-5.3-Flash yes, Qwen3.6 27B yes. Image input: GLM-5.3-Flash yes, Qwen3.6 27B yes.
Both publish their weights: you can host them yourself.
In short
Our reading of the data:
- Choose GLM-5.3-Flash for a lower cost, a larger context window and a more recent release.
This verdict relies on public figures; it does not replace a trial on your own tasks.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
GLM-5.3-Flash or Qwen3.6 27B: which is better?
On our index (Epoch AI data), GLM-5.3-Flash scores 71.9 and Qwen3.6 27B 72.2 out of 100. The best choice also depends on price and on your use case.
Which one is cheaper?
GLM-5.3-Flash. To read 20,000 tokens and write 2,000, expect $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash and $0.012 with Qwen3.6 27B (prices as of October 22, 2026).
Which one has the larger context window?
GLM-5.3-Flash, with 1,000,000 tokens versus 262,144.
Can I run GLM-5.3-Flash or Qwen3.6 27B on my own servers?
Yes, both publish their weights. Check each license before commercial use.
Data sources
- Models.dev — Model data: models.dev (open-source project)
- OpenRouter — Market prices cross-checked with OpenRouter
- Epoch AI — AI Benchmarking Hub — Epoch AI, “AI Benchmarking Hub”, epoch.ai, CC BY 4.0
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.