FRENES

Note-taking and knowledge bases

MindMap AI: review, pricing, data and alternatives

MindMap AI helps people organize knowledge by turning topics, documents and recordings into mind maps. Users can develop branches through conversation, edit nodes manually and share maps. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $3.99 per month. Access and transparency score: 53/100, #10 of 14 in its category.

Score
53/100
Access 25/30
Openness 10/30
Trust 18/40
Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is MindMap AI?

MindMap AI helps people organize knowledge by turning topics, documents and recordings into mind maps. Users can develop branches through conversation, edit nodes manually and share maps.

According to its documentation, MindMap AI lets you:

  • turn a topic into a mind map
  • summarize documents and recordings as a map
  • expand or reorganize branches through conversation
  • manually edit nodes and their appearance
  • share maps by link or embed them in a page

We file it under Note-taking and knowledge bases, the category of tools to organise notes and knowledge, and it also overlaps with productivity and organisation and aI summarisers. The category lists 14 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is 3axislabs Inc.. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: students, teachers, researchers, and project managers. The need it covers is simple to state: organise notes and knowledge.

MindMap AI is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you also work from your phone

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does MindMap AI cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $3.99 per month (Go, billed monthly, with 500 AI credits per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($9 per month, based on tools with a published price).

MindMap AIMindMap AI : $3.99$3.99ObsidianObsidian : $4$4Whisper MemosWhisper Memos : $5.83$5.83FabricFabric : $8$8ReflectReflect : $8.25$8.25MemMem : $9$9RecallRecall : $10$10MyMapMyMap : $12$12GlaspGlasp : $12.5$12.5ElephasElephas : $19$19Notion AINotion AI : $19.5$19.5
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

MindMap AI runs on: web browser, iPhone and iPad, Android, and browser extension.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 53/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

MindMap AI score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust18/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
RecallRecall : 7878ObsidianObsidian : 7373GlaspGlasp : 7070Open NotebookOpen Notebook : 6868MemMem : 6565ReflectReflect : 6565LimitlessLimitless : 6363ElephasElephas : 5858FabricFabric : 5858MindMap AIMindMap AI : 5353
MindMap AI ranks #10 of 14. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

MindMap AI against other tools in the note-taking and knowledge bases category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
MindMap AIYes$3.99 per month–53
RecallYes$10 per monthYes78
ObsidianYes$4 per monthYes73
GlaspYes$150 per yearYes70
Open NotebookYesnot publishedYes68
MemYes$9 per monthYes65
ReflectYes$99 per year–65
LimitlessYesnot publishedYes63

Verdict

MindMap AI publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is MindMap AI free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $3.99 per month.

Where is MindMap AI data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does MindMap AI have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to MindMap AI?

In the same category: Recall, Obsidian, Glasp, and Open Notebook.

MindMap AI or Recall: which one to choose?

MindMap AI starts at $3.99 per month, Recall at $10 per month and our score is 53/100 for MindMap AI and 78/100 for Recall. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score