FRENES

Note-taking and knowledge bases

Fabric: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Fabric lets individuals and teams collect notes, links, and files in shared spaces. It provides search by meaning, audio and video transcription, and an assistant that answers questions about their documents. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $96 per year. Access and transparency score: 58/100, #9 of 14 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Fabric?

Fabric lets individuals and teams collect notes, links, and files in shared spaces. It provides search by meaning, audio and video transcription, and an assistant that answers questions about their documents.

According to its documentation, Fabric lets you:

  • bring together notes, links, and files
  • find content by its meaning
  • transcribe audio and video recordings
  • ask an assistant about your documents
  • share spaces with a team

We file it under Note-taking and knowledge bases, the category of tools to organise notes and knowledge, and it also overlaps with enterprise search and meeting assistants. The category lists 14 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is WFHLAND, Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: researchers, students, graphic designers, and freelancers. The need it covers is simple to state: organise notes and knowledge.

Fabric is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you also work from your phone

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Fabric cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $96 per year (Plus, billed annually; displayed equivalent of USD 8 per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($9 per month, based on tools with a published price).

MindMap AIMindMap AI : $3.99$3.99ObsidianObsidian : $4$4Whisper MemosWhisper Memos : $5.83$5.83FabricFabric : $8$8ReflectReflect : $8.25$8.25MemMem : $9$9RecallRecall : $10$10MyMapMyMap : $12$12GlaspGlasp : $12.5$12.5ElephasElephas : $19$19Notion AINotion AI : $19.5$19.5
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Fabric runs on: web browser, iPhone and iPad, Android, macOS, browser extension, and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 58/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Fabric score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
RecallRecall : 7878ObsidianObsidian : 7373GlaspGlasp : 7070Open NotebookOpen Notebook : 6868MemMem : 6565ReflectReflect : 6565LimitlessLimitless : 6363ElephasElephas : 5858FabricFabric : 5858MindMap AIMindMap AI : 5353
Fabric ranks #9 of 14. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Fabric against other tools in the note-taking and knowledge bases category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
FabricYes$96 per yearYes58
RecallYes$10 per monthYes78
ObsidianYes$4 per monthYes73
GlaspYes$150 per yearYes70
Open NotebookYesnot publishedYes68
MemYes$9 per monthYes65
ReflectYes$99 per year–65
LimitlessYesnot publishedYes63

Verdict

Fabric is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Fabric free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $96 per year.

Where is Fabric data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Fabric have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Fabric?

In the same category: Recall, Obsidian, Glasp, and Open Notebook.

Fabric or Recall: which one to choose?

Fabric starts at $96 per year, Recall at $10 per month and our score is 58/100 for Fabric and 78/100 for Recall. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score