FRENES

Short-form social video

Klap: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Klap lets people posting on social media extract short clips from a long video. It reframes shots around speakers, adds animated subtitles, and schedules video publication. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $168 per year. Access and transparency score: 68/100, #1 of 5 in its category.

Score
68/100
Access 25/30
Openness 20/30
Trust 23/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Klap?

Klap lets people posting on social media extract short clips from a long video. It reframes shots around speakers, adds animated subtitles, and schedules video publication.

According to its documentation, Klap lets you:

  • extract short segments from a long video
  • reframe shots around speakers
  • add animated subtitles
  • adapt clips for social media
  • schedule video publication

We file it under Short-form social video, the category of tools to turn content into short clips, and it also overlaps with aI video editing and subtitles and dubbing. The category lists 5 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is ZIGG SAS, based in France. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: video creators, social media managers, marketers, and podcasters. The need it covers is simple to state: turn content into short clips.

Klap is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Klap cost?

Pricing model: paid. A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $168 per year (Basic, 100 clips per month; listed price of USD 14/month with annual billing. Free trial available), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($14.92 per month, based on tools with a published price).

KlapKlap : $14$14Recast StudioRecast Studio : $14.17$14.17Clippie AIClippie AI : $14.92$14.92OpusClipOpusClip : $15$15InstaShortsInstaShorts : $49$49
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: MP4. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Klap runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 68/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Klap score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust23/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
KlapKlap : 6868Recast StudioRecast Studio : 6161OpusClipOpusClip : 5555Clippie AIClippie AI : 5353InstaShortsInstaShorts : 4343
Klap ranks #1 of 5. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Klap against other tools in the short-form social video category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
KlapYes$168 per yearYes68
Recast StudioYes$170 per year–61
OpusClipYes$15 per monthYes55
Clippie AINo$179 per yearYes53
InstaShortsYes$49 per month–43

Verdict

Klap is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Established since 2023

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Klap free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $168 per year.

Where is Klap data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Klap have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Klap?

In the same category: Recast Studio, OpusClip, Clippie AI, and InstaShorts.

Klap or Recast Studio: which one to choose?

Klap starts at $168 per year, Recast Studio at $170 per year and our score is 68/100 for Klap and 61/100 for Recast Studio. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score