Short-form social video
OpusClip: review, pricing, data and alternatives
OpusClip helps social media video creators identify passages to turn into clips. It also reframes videos, adds subtitles, removes pauses and hesitations, and schedules publication of clips. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $15 per month. Access and transparency score: 55/100, #3 of 5 in its category.
| Access | 25/30 | |
|---|---|---|
| Openness | 20/30 | |
| Trust | 10/40 |
What is OpusClip?
OpusClip helps social media video creators identify passages to turn into clips. It also reframes videos, adds subtitles, removes pauses and hesitations, and schedules publication of clips.
According to its documentation, OpusClip lets you:
- identify passages to turn into clips
- reframe videos for social media
- add subtitles
- remove pauses and hesitations
- schedule clip publication
We file it under Short-form social video, the category of tools to turn content into short clips, and it also overlaps with aI video editing and subtitles and dubbing. The category lists 5 verified tools on this site.
The publisher is Opusclip Inc., based in United States.
Who is it for?
It is mostly useful to these profiles: video creators, social media managers, podcasters, and marketers. The need it covers is simple to state: turn content into short clips.
OpusClip is a good candidate if:
- you want to try before paying
- you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.
How much does OpusClip cost?
Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.
The first paid plan costs $15 per month (Starter, displayed monthly price), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.
Per month, that is close to the category median ($14.92 per month, based on tools with a published price).
To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.
Data and privacy
The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.
For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.
Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.
Three habits apply to every AI tool:
- turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
- use a work account separate from your personal account
- review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it
Platforms, languages and API
OpusClip runs on: web browser and API.
Interface languages are not specified.
A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.
How we scored it
Our 55/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.
| Criterion | Points | What counts |
|---|---|---|
| Access | 25/30 | free tier, published price, French interface |
| Openness | 20/30 | API, data export, open code |
| Trust | 10/40 | identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists |
The full calculation is explained on our method page.
Comparison with alternatives
OpusClip against other tools in the short-form social video category:
| Tool | Free | Entry price | API | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpusClip | Yes | $15 per month | Yes | 55 |
| Klap | Yes | $168 per year | Yes | 68 |
| Recast Studio | Yes | $170 per year | – | 61 |
| Clippie AI | No | $179 per year | Yes | 53 |
| InstaShorts | Yes | $49 per month | – | 43 |
Verdict
OpusClip is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.
Strengths
- Free tier to try it
- Public API
Limitations
- Data hosting not disclosed
Avoid if…
- You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
Alternatives
- Klapfree tier
- Recast Studiofree tier
- Clippie AI$179 per year
- InstaShortsfree tier
Categories and jobs
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Is OpusClip free?
Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $15 per month.
Where is OpusClip data stored?
The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.
Does OpusClip have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented.
What are the alternatives to OpusClip?
In the same category: Klap, Recast Studio, Clippie AI, and InstaShorts.
OpusClip or Klap: which one to choose?
OpusClip starts at $15 per month, Klap at $168 per year and our score is 55/100 for OpusClip and 68/100 for Klap. Try both on the same task before paying.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score