FRENES

Short-form social video

InstaShorts: review, pricing, data and alternatives

InstaShorts helps TikTok video creators assemble short videos from imported footage. It provides an editable script, narration using a cloned voice, and transcription of videos. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $49 per month. Access and transparency score: 43/100, #5 of 5 in its category.

Score
43/100
Access 25/30
Openness 0/30
Trust 18/40
Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is InstaShorts?

InstaShorts helps TikTok video creators assemble short videos from imported footage. It provides an editable script, narration using a cloned voice, and transcription of videos.

According to its documentation, InstaShorts lets you:

  • assemble short videos for TikTok
  • produce a script from imported videos
  • edit the proposed script
  • create narration with a cloned voice
  • transcribe videos

We file it under Short-form social video, the category of tools to turn content into short clips, and it also overlaps with voice cloning and changing and aI video editing. The category lists 5 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is GENERATION AAYA LLC, based in United States. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: video creators, social media managers, marketers, and small business owners. The need it covers is simple to state: turn content into short clips.

InstaShorts is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does InstaShorts cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $49 per month (Starter, 120 minutes of imported videos, 900 seconds of voiceover, and one cloned voice), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($14.92 per month, based on tools with a published price).

KlapKlap : $14$14Recast StudioRecast Studio : $14.17$14.17Clippie AIClippie AI : $14.92$14.92OpusClipOpusClip : $15$15InstaShortsInstaShorts : $49$49
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

InstaShorts runs on: web browser.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 43/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

InstaShorts score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust18/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
KlapKlap : 6868Recast StudioRecast Studio : 6161OpusClipOpusClip : 5555Clippie AIClippie AI : 5353InstaShortsInstaShorts : 4343
InstaShorts ranks #5 of 5. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

InstaShorts against other tools in the short-form social video category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
InstaShortsYes$49 per month–43
KlapYes$168 per yearYes68
Recast StudioYes$170 per year–61
OpusClipYes$15 per monthYes55
Clippie AINo$179 per yearYes53

Verdict

InstaShorts publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is InstaShorts free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $49 per month.

Where is InstaShorts data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does InstaShorts have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to InstaShorts?

In the same category: Klap, Recast Studio, OpusClip, and Clippie AI.

InstaShorts or Klap: which one to choose?

InstaShorts starts at $49 per month, Klap at $168 per year and our score is 43/100 for InstaShorts and 68/100 for Klap. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score