FRENES

Speech to text

AI Dictation: review, pricing, data and alternatives

AI Dictation serves people entering text by voice in their applications. It preserves multiple languages within a sentence, removes hesitations, adds punctuation, and supports a personal vocabulary. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $84.99 per year. Access and transparency score: 48/100, #13 of 15 in its category.

Free tierOpen sourceHosting not disclosed

What is AI Dictation?

AI Dictation serves people entering text by voice in their applications. It preserves multiple languages within a sentence, removes hesitations, adds punctuation, and supports a personal vocabulary.

According to its documentation, AI Dictation lets you:

  • enter text by voice in applications
  • preserve multiple languages within the same sentence
  • remove hesitations and add punctuation
  • recognize speech on the device when local mode is available
  • add names and terms to a personal vocabulary

We file it under Speech to text, the category of tools to transcribe audio to text, and it also overlaps with productivity and organisation and grammar and paraphrasing. The category lists 15 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Artsiom Vysotski, based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: project managers, developers, sales teams, and marketers. The need it covers is simple to state: transcribe audio to text.

AI Dictation is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you also work from your phone
  • you want to read the code or host it yourself

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does AI Dictation cost?

Pricing model: open source (public code). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $84.99 per year (Unlimited dictation, annual payment; monthly plan at USD 8.49. Trial of 5,000 words), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($9 per month, based on tools with a published price).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

AI Dictation runs on: Windows, macOS, iPhone and iPad, and Android.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

The source code is public: writingmatewritingmate/aidictation.

How we scored it

Our 48/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

AI Dictation score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
WhisperWhisper : 9595AssemblyAIAssemblyAI : 7878RevRev : 7575Wispr FlowWispr Flow : 7373VibeVibe : 6868DeepgramDeepgram : 6565HappyScribeHappyScribe : 6565SonixSonix : 6060RyloRylo : 5858WhisperAPIWhisperAPI : 5858AI DictationAI Dictation : 4848
AI Dictation ranks #13 of 15. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

AI Dictation against other tools in the speech to text category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
AI DictationYes$84.99 per year–48
WhisperYes$0.01 pay as you goYes95
AssemblyAIYes$0.15 pay as you goYes78
RevYes$0.25 pay as you goYes75
Wispr FlowYes$12 per monthYes73
VibeYesnot publishedYes68
DeepgramYes$0 pay as you goYes65
HappyScribeYes£102 per yearYes65

Verdict

AI Dictation publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public source code
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is AI Dictation free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $84.99 per year.

Where is AI Dictation data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does AI Dictation have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to AI Dictation?

In the same category: Whisper, AssemblyAI, Rev, and Wispr Flow.

AI Dictation or Whisper: which one to choose?

AI Dictation starts at $84.99 per year, Whisper at $0.01 pay as you go and our score is 48/100 for AI Dictation and 95/100 for Whisper. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score