AI tools comparison
Napkin AI vs Microsoft Designer: 2026 comparison
Across 8 comparable criteria, Napkin AI wins 1, Microsoft Designer wins 4, with 3 ties. Napkin AI leads on data hosting; Microsoft Designer on entry price, interface languages, and platforms.
Napkin AI and Microsoft Designer in brief
Napkin AI and Microsoft Designer both help you create visual material, but they start from different needs. Napkin AI turns text into diagrams, mind maps and infographics. Microsoft Designer generates images from descriptions and provides composition and photo editing functions. Both have a free offer. The useful starting question is whether you need to explain information visually for a presentation or create and adjust an image for an invitation or publication. Their shared category does not mean they cover the same work.
Napkin AI : Napkin AI is for people turning text into diagrams, infographics, or mind maps. It also supports drawing processes, preparing presentations, and adapting colors and fonts to a brand.
Microsoft Designer : Microsoft Designer lets people creating visuals generate images from descriptions. It also helps compose invitations and posts, erase objects in photos, and remove or blur image backgrounds.
Both meet the same need, which makes the comparison useful. We compare them on 10 verifiable criteria, using the same data as their profiles, collected from official sites.
Comparison table
| Criterion | Napkin AI | Microsoft Designer |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Graphic design | Graphic design |
| Website | napkin.ai | designer.microsoft.com |
| Publisher | Second Layer, Inc. | Microsoft Corporation |
| Country | United States | United States |
| Launched | 2024 | 2023 |
| Pricing model | freemium (limited free use, then paid) | freemium (limited free use, then paid) |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Entry price | $9 per month | $99.99 per year |
| Platforms | web browser, API | web browser, Windows, iPhone and iPad, Android |
| Languages | English, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, Portuguese | 33 languages |
| Source code | closed | closed |
| Site score | 81/100 | 56/100 |
Criterion by criterion
For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.
Free tier
A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. Napkin AI : yes. Microsoft Designer : yes. A tie on this point.
Entry price
The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. Napkin AI : $9 per month. Microsoft Designer : $99.99 per year. Edge: Microsoft Designer.
Public API
An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. Napkin AI : yes. Microsoft Designer : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Data export
Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. Napkin AI : yes. Microsoft Designer : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Data hosting
Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. Napkin AI : United States. Microsoft Designer : not disclosed. Edge: Napkin AI.
Interface languages
More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. Napkin AI : 6. Microsoft Designer : 33. Edge: Microsoft Designer.
Platforms
The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. Napkin AI : web browser and API. Microsoft Designer : web browser, Windows, iPhone and iPad, and Android. Edge: Microsoft Designer.
Open source
Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. Napkin AI : no. Microsoft Designer : no. A tie on this point.
Track record
A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. Napkin AI : launched in 2024. Microsoft Designer : launched in 2023. Edge: Microsoft Designer.
Recognition
The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. Napkin AI : cited in 2 lists. Microsoft Designer : cited in 2 lists. A tie on this point.
In charts
Our analysis
Napkin AI focuses on giving written information a visual structure. Its diagrams, mind maps and process illustrations suit work where the goal is to explain relationships or steps. Presentation preparation and controls for brand colors and fonts extend that approach. Microsoft Designer addresses another set of tasks: creating images from descriptions, composing invitations and publications, and editing photographs. Its listed editing functions include object removal and background removal or blur. Both belong to graphic design, but their documented capabilities suggest different starting points. The supplied data does not establish which produces more attractive visuals or requires less manual correction.
Both products use a freemium model, although the supplied entries do not describe the free limits. Napkin AI lists Plus at USD 9 per person per month with annual billing selected. That display should not be read as an unrestricted monthly billing offer. Microsoft Designer’s listed price is for Microsoft 365 Personal: USD 99.99 annually, also displayed at USD 9.99 per month. The offers have different scopes, so the amounts alone are insufficient for an equivalent comparison. Scores of 81 and 56 out of 100 concern access and transparency, rather than the quality of designs or editing results.
Napkin AI declares data hosting in the United States. Microsoft Designer’s hosting location is not declared in the supplied entry, and its publisher’s country cannot fill that gap. Both products are closed source. Napkin AI lists an API and exports to PNG, PDF, SVG and PowerPoint, providing documented ways to retrieve and reuse visual outputs. Microsoft Designer’s API availability and export formats are not provided here. Missing information should not be interpreted as proof that these options do not exist. Neither entry details content retention or reuse rules, so this comparison cannot establish broader privacy protections from the information available.
Napkin AI is available on the web and through an API, with six interface languages including French and Spanish. Microsoft Designer lists 33 languages, including both, and access through the web, Windows, iOS and Android. Device availability may therefore influence your choice alongside the kind of visual you need. Napkin AI documents several presentation and graphic export formats, while its listed functions do not cover Designer’s photo editing tasks. Conversely, Designer’s entry does not list mind maps or process diagrams. These are boundaries of the supplied documentation, and should not be treated as a complete account of every possible capability.
Depending on your situation
The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (Napkin AI value / Microsoft Designer value).
Personal use on a tight budget
Here, Microsoft Designer has the edge: it wins 2 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely free tier (yes / yes), entry price ($9 per month / $99.99 per year), and interface languages (6 / 33).
Business use with client data
Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (data hosting (United States / not disclosed), data export (yes / not disclosed), and track record (launched in 2024 / launched in 2023)): decide with a trial.
Integration with your software
Here, Microsoft Designer has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely public api (yes / not disclosed), open source (no / no), and platforms (web browser and API / web browser, Windows, iPhone and iPad, and Android).
Which one to choose?
Choose Napkin AI if…
- you value data hosting (United States)
Napkin AI is a logical choice when you start with text to explain, a process to illustrate or a presentation to prepare. PowerPoint, SVG, PDF and PNG exports give you concrete options for carrying the result into other work. Brand color and font adjustments may also matter when several visual materials need a consistent appearance.
Choose Microsoft Designer if…
- you value entry price ($99.99 per year)
- you value interface languages (33)
- you value platforms (web browser, Windows, iPhone and iPad, and Android)
- you value track record (launched in 2023)
Microsoft Designer fits work centered on generating images, composing invitations or publications, and making targeted changes to photographs. Windows, iOS and Android availability may be useful if you switch devices. When assessing the price, remember that the amount supplied belongs to Microsoft 365 Personal, so you should evaluate it within that offer’s scope.
Strengths and limits of each
Napkin AI
- + Free tier to try it
- + Public API
Microsoft Designer
- + Free tier to try it
- + Cheaper than its category median
- + Established since 2023
- − Data hosting not disclosed
- − Data export not documented
The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.
What about the others?
If neither suits you, look at Canva, Creative Fabrica, Recraft, Canvora, Playground, and Stockimg AI.
Related comparisons:
Conclusion
Napkin AI aligns with turning explanations and processes into visual structures. Microsoft Designer aligns with image generation, composition and photo editing. Both provide free access, but the supplied information does not detail its limits. Let your starting material, required output and device preferences guide the decision. The access and transparency scores describe a separate dimension and do not settle which product will suit the visual task you have in mind.
Verdict
Microsoft Designer leads on more criteria (4 of 8). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.
Full profiles
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Napkin AI or Microsoft Designer: which is better?
Microsoft Designer leads on more criteria (4 of 8). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.
What is the main difference between Napkin AI and Microsoft Designer?
Napkin AI leads on data hosting (United States vs not disclosed), Microsoft Designer on entry price ($99.99 per year vs $9 per month).
Are Napkin AI and Microsoft Designer free?
Free tier: Napkin AI, yes; Microsoft Designer, yes.
Which one is cheaper?
Entry price: Napkin AI, $9 per month; Microsoft Designer, $99.99 per year. Microsoft Designer is cheaper.
Which one protects my data better?
Data hosting: Napkin AI, United States; Microsoft Designer, not disclosed. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.
What alternative to Napkin AI and Microsoft Designer?
In the same family: Canva, Creative Fabrica, and Recraft.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score