FRENES

Graphic design

Microsoft Designer: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Microsoft Designer lets people creating visuals generate images from descriptions. It also helps compose invitations and posts, erase objects in photos, and remove or blur image backgrounds. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $99.99 per year. Access and transparency score: 56/100, #10 of 16 in its category.

Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is Microsoft Designer?

Microsoft Designer lets people creating visuals generate images from descriptions. It also helps compose invitations and posts, erase objects in photos, and remove or blur image backgrounds.

According to its documentation, Microsoft Designer lets you:

  • create an image from a description
  • compose invitations and posts
  • erase objects from a photo
  • remove or blur a background

We file it under Graphic design, the category of tools to create visuals, logos and assets, and it also overlaps with aI image generators and aI photo editing. The category lists 16 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Microsoft Corporation, based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: graphic designers and social media managers. The need it covers is simple to state: create visuals, logos and assets.

Microsoft Designer is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you also work from your phone

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Microsoft Designer cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $99.99 per year (Microsoft 365 Personal, annual billing; also listed at USD 9.99 per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($10.5 per month, based on tools with a published price).

Creative FabricaCreative Fabrica : $3.92$3.92ThumbnailCreatorThumbnailCreator : $8.25$8.25Microsoft DesignerMicrosoft Designer : $8.33$8.33Napkin AINapkin AI : $9$9FigureLabsFigureLabs : $9$9CanvaCanva : $12$12RecraftRecraft : $12$12PlaygroundPlayground : $12$12CanvoraCanvora : $19$19Stockimg AIStockimg AI : $19$19
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Microsoft Designer runs on: web browser, Windows, iPhone and iPad, and Android.

The interface is available in 33 languages.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 56/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Microsoft Designer score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access30/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust26/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
Napkin AINapkin AI : 8181CanvaCanva : 7878Creative FabricaCreative Fabrica : 7373RecraftRecraft : 6868CanvoraCanvora : 5858PlaygroundPlayground : 5858Stockimg AIStockimg AI : 5858VectorArt.aiVectorArt.ai : 5858FigureLabsFigureLabs : 5858Microsoft DesignerMicrosoft Designer : 5656
Microsoft Designer ranks #10 of 16. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Microsoft Designer against other tools in the graphic design category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
Microsoft DesignerYes$99.99 per year–56
Napkin AIYes$9 per monthYes81
CanvaYes$144 per yearYes78
Creative FabricaYes$47 per yearYes73
RecraftYes$12 per monthYes68
CanvoraYes$19 per monthYes58
PlaygroundYes$12 per monthYes58
Stockimg AIYes$19 per monthYes58

Verdict

Microsoft Designer is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Established since 2023
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Microsoft Designer free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $99.99 per year.

Where is Microsoft Designer data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Microsoft Designer have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Microsoft Designer?

In the same category: Napkin AI, Canva, Creative Fabrica, and Recraft.

Microsoft Designer or Napkin AI: which one to choose?

Microsoft Designer starts at $99.99 per year, Napkin AI at $9 per month and our score is 56/100 for Microsoft Designer and 81/100 for Napkin AI. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score