FRENES

Productivity and organisation

RescueTime: review, pricing, data and alternatives

RescueTime automatically measures time spent in applications for people who want to track their activity. It produces reports, blocks distractions, and prepares timesheets organized by project. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $84 per year. Access and transparency score: 73/100, #5 of 22 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is RescueTime?

RescueTime automatically measures time spent in applications for people who want to track their activity. It produces reports, blocks distractions, and prepares timesheets organized by project.

According to its documentation, RescueTime lets you:

  • automatically measure time spent in applications
  • categorize activities and produce reports
  • block distractions during a focus session
  • set goals and receive alerts
  • prepare timesheets by project

We file it under Productivity and organisation, the category of tools to save time every day. The category lists 22 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is RescueTime, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2007, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: freelancers, project managers, developers, and students. The need it covers is simple to state: save time every day.

RescueTime is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you also work from your phone

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does RescueTime cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $84 per year (Solo Focus, billed annually; equivalent to USD 7 per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($15.5 per month, based on tools with a published price).

AI File FinderAI File Finder : $2$2Sidekick AISidekick AI : $5$5RescueTimeRescueTime : $7$7SlashspaceSlashspace : $7.42$7.42Reclaim.aiReclaim.ai : $10$10PiecesPieces : $18.99$18.99guiddeguidde : $19$19ManusManus : $20$20TallyTally : $24$24SaunaSauna : $29$29
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 18.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: CSV et Excel. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

RescueTime runs on: web browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, iPhone and iPad, Android, and API.

The interface is available in 9 languages.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 73/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

RescueTime score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access30/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust23/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
Microsoft 365 CopilotMicrosoft 365 Copilot : 8383forms.appforms.app : 8383PiecesPieces : 7878TallyTally : 7878RescueTimeRescueTime : 7373TodoistTodoist : 7373ManusManus : 7171ScribeScribe : 6868Superhuman DocsSuperhuman Docs : 6565AI File FinderAI File Finder : 5858
RescueTime ranks #5 of 22. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

RescueTime against other tools in the productivity and organisation category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
RescueTimeYes$84 per yearYes73
Microsoft 365 CopilotYes$9.99 per monthYes83
forms.appYes$19 per monthYes83
PiecesYes$18.99 per monthYes78
TallyYes$24 per monthYes78
TodoistYes$60 per yearYes73
ManusYes$20 per monthYes71
ScribeYes$23 per monthYes68

Verdict

RescueTime is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Established since 2007
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is RescueTime free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $84 per year.

Where is RescueTime data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does RescueTime have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to RescueTime?

In the same category: Microsoft 365 Copilot, forms.app, Pieces, and Tally.

RescueTime or Microsoft 365 Copilot: which one to choose?

RescueTime starts at $84 per year, Microsoft 365 Copilot at $9.99 per month and our score is 73/100 for RescueTime and 83/100 for Microsoft 365 Copilot. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score