FRENES

Graphic design

ThumbnailCreator: review, pricing, data and alternatives

ThumbnailCreator generates YouTube thumbnails for people preparing videos. It creates multiple variants, inserts a face from photos, removes backgrounds, and edits images based on written instructions. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $99 per year. Access and transparency score: 38/100, #16 of 16 in its category.

Score
38/100
Access 10/30
Openness 20/30
Trust 8/40
Paid onlyAPIHosting not disclosed

What is ThumbnailCreator?

ThumbnailCreator generates YouTube thumbnails for people preparing videos. It creates multiple variants, inserts a face from photos, removes backgrounds, and edits images based on written instructions.

According to its documentation, ThumbnailCreator lets you:

  • generate YouTube thumbnails from a description
  • create multiple variants of a thumbnail
  • insert a face from photos
  • remove a background
  • edit an image with a written instruction

We file it under Graphic design, the category of tools to create visuals, logos and assets, and it also overlaps with aI image generators and social media. The category lists 16 verified tools on this site.

The service launched in 2025.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: video creators, social media managers, and marketers. The need it covers is simple to state: create visuals, logos and assets.

ThumbnailCreator is a good candidate if:

  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does ThumbnailCreator cost?

Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.

The first paid plan costs $99 per year (Lite, billed annually; 240 credits per year. 7-day trial with 10 credits), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($10.5 per month, based on tools with a published price).

Creative FabricaCreative Fabrica : $3.92$3.92ThumbnailCreatorThumbnailCreator : $8.25$8.25Microsoft DesignerMicrosoft Designer : $8.33$8.33Napkin AINapkin AI : $9$9FigureLabsFigureLabs : $9$9CanvaCanva : $12$12RecraftRecraft : $12$12PlaygroundPlayground : $12$12CanvoraCanvora : $19$19Stockimg AIStockimg AI : $19$19
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

ThumbnailCreator runs on: web browser, API, and browser extension.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 38/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

ThumbnailCreator score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access10/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust8/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
Napkin AINapkin AI : 8181CanvaCanva : 7878Creative FabricaCreative Fabrica : 7373RecraftRecraft : 6868CanvoraCanvora : 5858PlaygroundPlayground : 5858Stockimg AIStockimg AI : 5858VectorArt.aiVectorArt.ai : 5858FigureLabsFigureLabs : 5858Microsoft DesignerMicrosoft Designer : 5656ThumbnailCreatorThumbnailCreator : 3838
ThumbnailCreator ranks #16 of 16. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

ThumbnailCreator against other tools in the graphic design category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
ThumbnailCreatorNo$99 per yearYes38
Napkin AIYes$9 per monthYes81
CanvaYes$144 per yearYes78
Creative FabricaYes$47 per yearYes73
RecraftYes$12 per monthYes68
CanvoraYes$19 per monthYes58
PlaygroundYes$12 per monthYes58
Stockimg AIYes$19 per monthYes58

Verdict

ThumbnailCreator publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API

Limitations

  • No free tier
  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is ThumbnailCreator free?

No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $99 per year.

Where is ThumbnailCreator data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does ThumbnailCreator have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to ThumbnailCreator?

In the same category: Napkin AI, Canva, Creative Fabrica, and Recraft.

ThumbnailCreator or Napkin AI: which one to choose?

Napkin AI has a free tier, ThumbnailCreator does not, ThumbnailCreator starts at $99 per year, Napkin AI at $9 per month, and our score is 38/100 for ThumbnailCreator and 81/100 for Napkin AI. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score