FRENES

LLMOps and observability

Coval: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Coval lets teams developing voice agents simulate conversations and compare agents on shared scenarios. It measures call quality and response times, detects regressions, and supports human review of conversations. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $100 per month. Access and transparency score: 48/100, #16 of 18 in its category.

Score
48/100
Access 25/30
Openness 10/30
Trust 13/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Coval?

Coval lets teams developing voice agents simulate conversations and compare agents on shared scenarios. It measures call quality and response times, detects regressions, and supports human review of conversations.

According to its documentation, Coval lets you:

  • simulate conversations to test a voice agent
  • measure call quality and response times
  • detect regressions after a change
  • have conversations reviewed by human evaluators
  • compare multiple agents on the same scenarios

We file it under LLMOps and observability, the category of tools to evaluate, monitor and debug AI apps, and it also overlaps with voice agents and phone and developer tools. The category lists 18 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Coval Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers, project managers, and customer support. The need it covers is simple to state: evaluate, monitor and debug AI apps.

Coval is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Coval cost?

Pricing model: paid. A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $100 per month (Starter, billed monthly; seven-day trial requiring a payment card), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($49 per month, based on tools with a published price).

EvaligoEvaligo : $7$7LunaryLunary : $20$20Maxim AIMaxim AI : $29$29Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — PortkeyPrisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey : $49$49HeliconeHelicone : $79$79CovalCoval : $100$100OvermindOvermind : $120$120
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 13.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Coval runs on: web browser, API, and Slack.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 48/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Coval score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
LangfuseLangfuse : 9595LangSmithLangSmith : 8585OpikOpik : 8383Arize PhoenixArize Phoenix : 8181OvermindOvermind : 7878MLflowMLflow : 7878RespanRespan : 7171Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — PortkeyPrisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey : 7171LunaryLunary : 6868TruLensTruLens : 6868CovalCoval : 4848
Coval ranks #16 of 18. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Coval against other tools in the lLMOps and observability category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
CovalYes$100 per monthYes48
LangfuseYes$29 per monthYes95
LangSmithYes$39 per monthYes85
OpikYes$19 per monthYes83
Arize PhoenixYesnot publishedYes81
OvermindYes$120 per monthYes78
MLflowYesnot publishedYes78
RespanYes$199 per monthYes71

Verdict

Coval publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Coval free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $100 per month.

Where is Coval data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Coval have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Coval?

In the same category: Langfuse, LangSmith, Opik, and Arize Phoenix.

Coval or Langfuse: which one to choose?

Coval starts at $100 per month, Langfuse at $29 per month and our score is 48/100 for Coval and 95/100 for Langfuse. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score