FRENES

Customer service and website chatbots

MotionShot: review, pricing, data and alternatives

MotionShot helps people documenting procedures turn screenshots into guides. It adds annotations, highlights and generated narration, translates guides, embeds them in web pages and exports videos or documents. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $147 one-off payment. Access and transparency score: 43/100, #16 of 18 in its category.

Score
43/100
Access 25/30
Openness 10/30
Trust 8/40
Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is MotionShot?

MotionShot helps people documenting procedures turn screenshots into guides. It adds annotations, highlights and generated narration, translates guides, embeds them in web pages and exports videos or documents.

According to its documentation, MotionShot lets you:

  • turn screenshots into guides
  • add annotations and highlighted areas
  • generate a voice to explain the steps
  • translate guides
  • embed a guide in a web page
  • export guides as videos or documents

We file it under Customer service and website chatbots, the category of tools to answer customers automatically, and it also overlaps with aI video editing and text to speech. The category lists 18 verified tools on this site.

The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: customer support, teachers, marketers, and recruiters and HR. The need it covers is simple to state: answer customers automatically.

MotionShot is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does MotionShot cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $147 one-off payment (Lifetime offer currently displayed on the official page; 300 guide generations per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

MotionShot runs on: web browser and browser extension.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 43/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

MotionShot score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust8/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
ChatfuelChatfuel : 7878TiledeskTiledesk : 7878Chat DataChat Data : 7373TidioTidio : 7070FastBots.aiFastBots.ai : 6868SiteSpeakAISiteSpeakAI : 6868Zendesk AIZendesk AI : 6565ChatbaseChatbase : 6565FinFin : 6060GaliChatGaliChat : 5858MotionShotMotionShot : 4343
MotionShot ranks #16 of 18. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

MotionShot against other tools in the customer service and website chatbots category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
MotionShotYes$147 one-off payment–43
ChatfuelYes$216 per yearYes78
TiledeskYes€124 per monthYes78
Chat DataYes$15.83 per monthYes73
TidioYes$24.17 per monthYes70
FastBots.aiYes$33 per month–68
SiteSpeakAIYes$290 per yearYes68
Zendesk AINo€55 per monthYes65

Verdict

MotionShot publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is MotionShot free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $147 one-off payment.

Where is MotionShot data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does MotionShot have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to MotionShot?

In the same category: Chatfuel, Tiledesk, Chat Data, and Tidio.

MotionShot or Chatfuel: which one to choose?

MotionShot starts at $147 one-off payment, Chatfuel at $216 per year and our score is 43/100 for MotionShot and 78/100 for Chatfuel. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score