FRENES

Meeting assistants

Krisp: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Krisp supports call and meeting participants by reducing noise and transcribing conversations. It records meetings, summarizes discussions and follow-up actions, and allows searches through previous meetings. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $96 per year. Access and transparency score: 68/100, #9 of 16 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Krisp?

Krisp supports call and meeting participants by reducing noise and transcribing conversations. It records meetings, summarizes discussions and follow-up actions, and allows searches through previous meetings.

According to its documentation, Krisp lets you:

  • reduce noise during calls
  • transcribe conversations
  • record meetings
  • summarize discussions and follow-up actions
  • search previous meetings

We file it under Meeting assistants, the category of tools to transcribe and summarise meetings, and it also overlaps with audio and podcast and speech to text. The category lists 16 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Krisp Technologies, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2018, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: customer support, sales teams, and project managers. The need it covers is simple to state: transcribe and summarise meetings.

Krisp is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Krisp cost?

Pricing model: paid. A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $96 per year (Core, per user: USD 8/month billed annually; USD 16 with monthly payment. 7-day free trial), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($15 per month, based on tools with a published price).

TactiqTactiq : $8$8KrispKrisp : $8$8MeetGeekMeetGeek : $9.99$9.99ScribblScribbl : $13$13Read AIRead AI : $15$15tl;dvtl;dv : $18$18NootaNoota : $19$19JamieJamie : $24$24
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 15.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Krisp runs on: web browser, Windows, macOS, and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 68/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Krisp score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust23/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
Otter.aiOtter.ai : 8585Read AIRead AI : 8383SybillSybill : 8181tl;dvtl;dv : 8080AvomaAvoma : 7878FathomFathom : 7575NootaNoota : 7575TactiqTactiq : 7070KrispKrisp : 6868Fireflies.aiFireflies.ai : 6868
Krisp ranks #9 of 16. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Krisp against other tools in the meeting assistants category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
KrispYes$96 per yearYes68
Otter.aiYes$8.49 per monthYes85
Read AIYes$15 per monthYes83
SybillYes$30 per monthYes81
tl;dvYes$18 per monthYes80
AvomaYes$19 per monthYes78
FathomYes$15 per monthYes75
NootaYes$19 per monthYes75

Verdict

Krisp is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Established since 2018
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Krisp free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $96 per year.

Where is Krisp data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Krisp have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Krisp?

In the same category: Otter.ai, Read AI, Sybill, and tl;dv.

Krisp or Otter.ai: which one to choose?

Krisp starts at $96 per year, Otter.ai at $8.49 per month and our score is 68/100 for Krisp and 85/100 for Otter.ai. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score